One who is unknown.

March 9, 2010

We sometimes encounter people, even perfect strangers, who begin to interest us at first sight, somehow suddenly, all at once, before a word has been spoken.

Fyodor Dostoevsky

Each day, I come across various people in my life. From greeting the doorman of my flat to ordering my coffee from the barista in Starbucks, the incidents I chance upon, almost fleeting in my memory, serve as a piece of puzzle in my life, as i know it. I have met hundreds of people, yet only a few are considered of much or great significance. Some, because I have to. Others, because, well… I love them.

Now, there are moments in my past when meeting strangers prove to be therapeutic. Yes, small talks count… Although the enlightenment comes from bonding and forming an actual friendship with these so-called random strangers.

They come and go, these people. But they leave lasting memories and lessons that will be forever remembered. And somehow, the tragic goodbyes lead to wishful thinking, otherwise, the drama of mystery is lost.

Not just once have I met someone who truly caught my attention. Must be the look, perhaps. But as I have gotten to know these people, they prove to be quite similar, not to each other but similar to me (in one way or another). I attract energies that carry free falling attitudes… energies that inspire me or frees me in a way that i can succumb to. I get lost or bored from time to time, and these souls (that i may call my friends) lead me to where I want to be at a given time.

True enough, becoming a stranger has that great advantage of mystery and influence. So become one,  and meet one.

Leave a Reply

