Grasshopper

July 25, 2012

Last night, I freaked out when a grasshopper landed on my leg while I was working on something at home. How did the grasshopper enter my house, I have no clue. But this morning my friend mentioned that it is actually a good omen to see or find a grasshopper. So I googled it and here’s what I found! ; )

As a Chinese Symbol, the grass hopper offers attributes of longevity, happiness, good health, good luck, wealth, abundance, fertility and virtue. In fact, grasshoppers were thought to be fertility symbols; specifically omens of the birth of a son (hence, another reason for its good luck symbol status as sons are considered prized gems within the setting of the family).

In Ancient Greece the grasshopper is a status symbol. Athenians would adorn themselves with golden grasshopper hair combs and brooches as an indication of nobility. The grasshopper is also a symbol of immortality.

In Native American Indian symbology and tribal lore (specifically the Iroquois nation) grasshopper symbolism deals with messages of glad tiding. In this context, the grasshopper is a harbinger of good news.

As an animal totem, the grasshopper chooses those of us who are innovators, forward-thinkers, and those who progress in life by unorthodox methods. This is because grasshopper symbolism recognizes tremendous leaps of faith, impressive jumps in progress and consistent forward momentum. Those with this totem are likely to aim high, and achieve amazing feats – they take great leaps where others fear to tread (or jump, in this case).

Grasshoppers can only jump forward….not backward, or sideways. So, when grasshopper shows up he could be reaffirming to you that you are taking the right steps to move forward in your current situation. Or it could be that he is telling you to go ahead and move forward, getting past what is hindering you. This is why grasshopper is the symbol of good luck all over the world. Grasshopper’s ability to connect and understand sound vibrations is why he is also a symbol of your inner voice. he could be telling you to trust yours.

~

Wooowowow, good thing I didn’t harm the grasshopper!! So many good things about to happen, I am excited! : )

One Response to “Grasshopper”

  1. serenabarham said

    I c a grasshopper outside my house but den a day or two later I c one in my house n it stayed da nite – was glad of it presence n I spoke to it 😉

Leave a Reply

